Now in its fourth year, Swarovski and Design Miami have awarded a multi-disciplinary group of designers the Swarovski Designers of the Future Award which recognises designs that are technologically and conceptually innovative. This award, not only honours promising young designers and studios who exemplify new directions in design culture, but it also looks beyond traditional notions of product design to represent vanguard approaches that are of a multidisciplinary nature. The main aim of the award is to offer a next-generation of design talents the opportunity to present newly commissioned work to an influential audience of collectors, dealers, and journalists at Design Miami/Basel.

The 2018 Swarovski Designers of the Future Award winners are: Frank Kolkman, an experimental Dutch designer specializing in robotic technologies; Study O Portable, a research based Dutch-Japanese practice making objects about the designed environment and Yosuke Ushigome of TAKRAM, a creative Japanese technologist specializing in emerging technologies. All three awardees will create designs that will come together to form a single installation unveiled at Design Miami/ Basel between June 12–17.

Winners of the Swarovski Designers of the Future Award 2018 were selected by a jury of leading figures in the design world, including Nadja Swarovski, Member of the Swarovski Executive Board; Alexandra Cunningham Cameron, Curatorial Advisor of Design Miami/Basel; Yves Behar, Entrepreneur and Founder of fuseproject; Deyan Sudjic, Director of the Design Museum, London; Jonathan Margolis, Contributing Editor of Financial Times and Karen Wong, Deputy Director of New Museum NY.

Selected from across the globe for their innovative design approach, this year’s winners will respond to the brief of ‘smart living’, applying pioneering crystal technologies including psycho activation techniques, touch crystal and energy crystal. Smart Living is particularly topical at the present as design and indeed all production industries globally respond to dwindling natural resources and climate change through original and innovative solutions aimed at making life more efficient, more controllable, economical, productive, integrated and sustainable.

The previous winners of the Swarovski Designers of the Future Award include influential designers and architects: Ross Lovegrove, Greg Lynn, Troika, Fredrikson Stallard, Erwin Redl, Eyal Burstein, Asif Khan, Guilherme Torres, Jeanne Gang and Mexico City-based global architecture and design practice Fernando Romero Enterprise (FR-EE).

Design Miami/ continues to set itself apart from familiar preconceptions of a design fair by not only satisfying the demand for a high-end fair, but also broadening awareness of modern and contemporary design by providing an exciting yet accessible destination for collectors and enthusiasts alike.

The commissioned works will be unveiled at Design Miami/ Basel (June 12-17, 2018)


Featured Image: Swarovski DoF, Wattens Inspiration Trip.